Sometimes You Just Have To Go

Have you ever had the longing for an adventure?

Like something within you was pulling you towards someplace new and unknown…

Last Saturday I couldn’t stop thinking about Charleston,SC. I posted a picture for my #wanderlustwednesday a few weeks ago. So, as I was steaming a wedding gown, I decided to actually go and wander about the city for myself.

Since the drive from Nashville to Charleston is about 8 hours away, I almost didn’t do the drive. I had to work on Sunday and I only had Monday off so I would have to do a quick trip. But as I was on my way to work “Heads Carolina, Tails California ” came on the radio and at that moment someone in with South Carolina plates got right in front of me. That was my sign, haha.

So after work on Sunday I filled my gas tank and headed down further south. As i was passing through Murfreesboro I almost decide to turn around and head back home. It would be the longest drive I’ve ever done on my own. I knew that after about 3 or 4 hours I would get bored and want to turn back, yet I knew I would regret not doing this trip, so on I went.

somewhere in georgia
somewhere in georgia

I drove down through Chattanooga and into Georgia. Going through Georgia, a fog started to cover all the fields and roads. It was slightly creepy yet beautiful as the sun set and the moon rose. Atlanta was pretty at night, I have never been but I’m planning on going in August. Then through Augusta and into South Carolina I drove on.

followed this guy through the fog of south carolina
followed this guy through the fog of south carolina

I made to about an hour from Charleston and I had to stop for the night. After drinking a Monster energy drink, i felt sick, exhausted and delirious. I laid there in some random town in SC regretting having to do the drive all over again the very next day. It was one of those moments in which I definitely regretted the decision and assuming that I got caught up in emotions and that Charleston would disappoint. But there I was, so I would have to go through with it all.

I woke up early in the morning. Got myself a cup of coffee from the hotel lobby and trekked the last hour of the trip.

I was planning on going to a certain restaurant that I had read about on a couple different sites and on yelp. As I passed the parking lot I decided to turn off my GPS and just drive around. With every street I came upon I just went with my instinct on whether to turn or drive straight through.

photo 3

Waterfront Park
Waterfront Park

I ended up by the bay, then after finding a parking garage I was off to wander about the city. I ended up by the Waterfront Park and the Pineapple Fountain that you see in so many pictures of Charleston. Then after a few more turns I ended up on Rainbow Row. Rainbow Row is a series of colorful historic homes in the French Quarter of Charleston. That spot was where the picture that I had posted on Instagram was taken from.

rainbow row
rainbow row

I then spent the rest of the afternoon just walking about Charleston. I found a cute little restaurant called, Eli’s Table and had Crab Cakes Eggs Benedict with the best grits that I have ever had in my life. Every bit was like a bit of southern heaven in my mouth. It was the perfect combination of southern cuisine and seafood. Those were probably the best variation of eggs benedict that i have had. Then off I went to explore some more. I was probably one of the youngest tourist walking around. Most of them were older folks taking the same pictures of the architecture as i was. I know though that I am a nerd and I am fascinated with history so it’s the perfect city for that.

Crab Cakes Benedict
Crab Cakes Benedict

 

photo 4-1

photo 2-1

photo 3-3

photo 4-2

photo 5-1

photo 3-2

photo 2-3

photo 3-1

photo 2-2

photo 5-3

The smell of the honeysuckle, the architecture, the wrought iron gates, the ladies weaving palmetto baskets, the history, the culture…all that make up Charleston…i loved.

Although I only spent a few hours there so that I could do the 8 hour drive and get home at a somewhat decent time, I know that I will return to explore some more. It was worth all the hours on the road and the moments of delirium.

photo 4-3

I did return home exhausted but I am so glad that I did this trip. Exploring and getting lost in new cities is one of my absolute favorite things in the world. It does good to my heart to wander in places I’ve never been before. It’s the gypsy in me that pulls me from place to place. It’s a need within me to drift about. One day, when I’ve finally settled down (if I ever do), I don’t want to have any regrets and you’ll regret the things you dont do more than the things that you do.

..because...duhhh...
..because…duhhh…

And so, the southern wanderings continue…let’s see where I may end up next time….

photo 4

One thought on “Sometimes You Just Have To Go”

Leave a Reply

