#WanderlustWednesday: San Sebastian

I have had a fascination with Spain for years.

Year after year I would hear of how amazing the culture is and beautiful of a place it truly is. One of my Spanish teachers in high school would always talk of Spain and every other year she would take a group of students. Unfortunately my family moved before I was able to join one of those groups. A couple of weeks ago, I met a girl around my age in Chicago that lives in Spain. She has always had a love for the country and then a few years ago she moved to Spain and absolutely loves it. I know the feeling and I’m dying to experience it again…but thats a different story.

Maybe its the food (i would just about kill for some good paella) or the beautiful landscape or quite possibly that most Spanish men are beautiful (i mean, did you not watch the world cup at all this summer). So, I’ll start with San Sebastian for my first post for Spain.

 800px-Donostia_Igeldotik

San Sebastian is on the northern coast of Spain about 12 miles from the border with France. Its a small city with some of the best beaches in Europe. It is a town full of culture and history but the biggest reason that I want to go to San Sebastian is for the food.

It is said that there are more Michelin stars per square foot than any other place in the world. Two of the top ten restaurants in the world also happen to be in San Sebastian. This region has had a huge influence in the whole gastronomy scene within the past few years. Although I am a fan of fancy meals, I am always down for some tapas or pintxos, as they are called in this region. Most people go from bar to bar, enjoy a few pintxos and drinks at each location. I mean, put me by the ocean and give me some awesome food within a beautiful city…well, that pretty much spells perfection to me.

7dc587e02d6d63530dd7b796a858c299

170px-Donostiako_Andre_Mariaren_basilika

170px-San_Sebastian_Ayuntamiento

822206beb1573a44faf4a9edf1f99ab6

a34eed6f4ede9e27b402e107cf2cb4b8

3c91381a9881f30b03d6bcc829c20350

76e05b1a074f7bae3dc62a752b7dadc9

c2981846782051875ba7014e2bb437e7

2318fb817b52c7d7e32278ab71e690a3

For more on San Sebastian, check out http://traveltips.usatoday.com/travel-san-sebastian-spain-27526.html.

Leave a Reply

