Who would’ve thought….

A year ago this weekend I came to wander about Nashville.

IMG_4360

I had only been once before on a youth trip many years ago. We were only in town for a day and so we didn’t really get the chance to get to do much around Nashville. I was 18 at the time and the thought never even crossed my mind that I would one day end up living here.

After coming back from Australia in 2011, I just went back to working and tried to build some sort of a normal life. I had a decent job, had my little routine, had my family and friends around and yet, I felt as if I were dying little by little deep inside. I was bored with my life. Living in Vegas, it’s as if you live in this little bubble and it was always the same drama and nonsense. I truly did try my best to just have somewhat of a normal life. To do what I thought others would somewhat expect of me.

But the thing is, I have a bit of a gypsy soul. I can’t stay in one spot. I can’t do whats “normal”, it kills me. I’ve never lived in one city for more than 8 years and I’ve never lived in one house for more than 6 years. My whole life, I have moved quite a bit.

At the beginning of 2013 I knew that it was time to move again. I had it down to 3 different cities. NYC, LA and Nashville. I wanted to go somewhere new so that ruled out LA. It gets way too damn cold in NYC so that went out the window. Nashville seemed like a cool place, so October of last year, I came to explore the city. No one really knew as to why I came out here but between the southern culture, the amazing food, of course the music and that creative freedom that seems to linger about the city, Nashville won me over.

IMG_4339

IMG_1986

IMG_2001

IMG_2004

IMG_2006

IMG_2016

IMG_2046

IMG_2048

IMG_2056

(just some pics from that trip)

Three months later I packed up all my crap in my car, persuaded my bestie to make the trip and off east we drove.

To be completely honest, it has not been the easiest of seasons but I am so thankful that I made the move. Being in a completely new place, away from everything comfortable and normal forces you to grow. To face who you really are and gives you the opportunity to change. There are things that I have learned and things that I am in the process of figuring out that would not have happened unless I made the move.

As for how long I will be here, well, that I am not sure of but I am grateful for the fact that at this moment, I am here.

Leave a Reply

